Massaged Life & Wellness Academy
Where do I sign up to begin my education and become a licensed massage therapist?
Complete this form and we will be in contact with you to answer any questions and start your journey at Massaged Life & Wellness Academy.
Alabama requires an applicant to have completed 650 hours minimum of approved massage education.
The Board requires 650 hours of a supervised course of instruction:
100 hours of anatomy and physiology consisting of 35 hours of myology, 15 hours of osteology, 10 hours of circulatory system, 10 hours of nervous system, and 30 hours of other body systems at the discretion of the school; (ii) 40 hours of pathology250 hours of basic massage therapy, contradistinctions of massage therapy, contraindications to massage therapy, and related touch modalities, to include a minimum of 50 hours of supervised massage; 50 hours of miscellaneous required courses including business, hydrotherapy, first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and professional ethics; (v) 210 hours of electives to be determined by the school.
Our tuition is currently $8900 plus a $50 application fee. This includes tuition, books, a massage table & bolster package, 1 set of massage linens, 1 massage oil holster & bottle, massage oil for the length of the program, student massage insurance, and MBLEX prep.
Compensation for professional massage work is determined by many variables. The type of work you do, the environment you work in (spa, clinic, medical, out-call), your experience level and specialization knowledge can all factor into how much you can earn as a practitioner. At Massaged Life, we have a Business and Ethics course that helps each person formulate the best path forward after licensure. We also work closely with many spas, local clinics, and healthcare professionals to match students with the right positions available. Many of our students are connected with potential job openings even prior to their test completion!
Yes! We receive requests regularly for new students to apply at many local spas and clinics. We cannot guarantee employment, however, we work very hard to match our students with the best opportunities for them.
We typically have more requests for therapists than we do students! It is a student’s responsibility to excel at their craft and impress an employer, however, we are continually working to match our graduates with the right working environment.
If you are planning to apply for licensure in another state before you begin your program at Massaged Life, it is very important that you research that state’s requirements for massage licensing. Most of the state massage boards across the country have their laws and regulations posted on their respective government websites. We have previous experience working with various massage boards in our area such as Mississippi, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Michigan, and New York (New York does require 200 additional hours and you must be 21 to apply).